Feel the frustration and then detach

Because it’s not worth it

Eve Arnold
3 min read1 day ago
Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

A few years ago, something happened.

A busy day filled with expectations, meetings and things going wrong. I’m not immune to these days but they happen often, all best plans and all that good stuff, so I learn to move with the wind.

In my younger years, I would have been horrified if something went wrong, it would eat me up inside and I’d chew over all the things I might have done wrong.

These days I’m able to look at something objectively and say whether it was my fault or not.

And actually, I’m able to learn regardless.

But then something happened

Long story short, somebody wasn’t happy.

It happens in work and in life, people being frustrated, upset or worked up can all be a sign and symptom of life. Sometimes you have a bad day. Sometimes life is unfair. Sometimes it’s hard to work through emotions and carry on with life.

Especially when you feel so angry at it.

Anyway, this news hit me like a smack in the face and my first reaction was frustration. It urked me. I started listing all the reasons this person was wrong, running through my mind at all the things I’d done, finding things to…

--

--

Eve Arnold

Every Sunday I send one lesson to 15,000 part-time creators to help them build their business alongside their 9-to-5. Join free → www.theparttimecreatorclub.com